Press Release

Match Report

Media Associates team lifted the tenth INDIAN OIL GMC cricket trophy defeating a team of Print Languages at the St Xavier’s Loyola High School Grounds on February 4, 2018, Sunday in a nail-biting finish which went into the Super Overs. The daylong cricket carnival was organized by the Gujarat Media Club (GMC) in association with the Indian Oil Corporation.

Inaugurated by Mr. Sanjiv Kumar Jain, Executive Director (Indian Oil Corporation), the three match tournament saw four teams (Print English, Print Languages, Electronic Media and Media Associates) slug it out for the trophy. Mr Jain tossed the coin to kick up the games. Mr Jain, who has been promoted and transferred to Mumbai, was honoured by the GMC with a memento on the occasion.

With a tie in the finals between Media Associates and Print Languages, the clash continued in the Super Overs in a keen fight. While no team could uproot the stump in three attempts both tried, the umpires ordered for a next round. It was the last ball by Shekhar Singh from Media Associates led by Malhar Dave gave the team a victory, while Print Languages of captain Ripple Christy lost by whiskers.

An enthusiastic Ahmedabad Municipal Commissioner Mukesh Kumar, who was the chief guest at the event, himself tried a hand at batting all padded up and hit some strokes with professional expertise. He praised the GMC was putting together an impressive event and felt there should be a match between the GMC and the AMC.

Founder president of GMC RK Misra and current incumbent Darshan Desai presented a new sparkling winner trophy to Malhar Dave for the Media Associates while Ripple Christy received the Runners- Up Trophy from former president and veteran journalist Manas Das Gupta. Former Ranji Trophy player and senior IOC official Bhavin Radia was adjudged the Player of the Tournament, to receive the award from former GMC president and senior journalist Virendra Pandit. Ravi Parekh of Media Associates was the Best Batsman, Shekhar Singh of Media Associates won the Best Bowler award, while the only woman player, Neha Amin, of the Print English team was adjudged the Best Fielder and received the award amid loud applause.

Ashish Soni and Raju Christian were the Umpires of the tournament was organized by the painstaking efforts of Senior Vice President Nayan Dave, Secretary-General Viren Vyas and Treasurer Bhupendra Singh Thakur. One of the founder directors and former Secretary General Sunil Raghu was always around to help out in the event.