Press Release

Print English team lifts third indian oil GMG trophy

PRINT (English) – a team of English newspapers – lifted the third INDIAN OIL GMC cricket trophy defeating a team of Print (Languages) at the Sardar Patel stadium on Sunday. The daylong cricket carnival was organized by the Gujarat Media Club (GMC) in association with the Indian Oil Corporation.

              Inaugurated by Mr. Sharat Meshram, Executive Director (Indian Oil Corporation), the three match tournament saw four teams (Print English, Print Languages, Electronic Media and Media Associates) slug it out for the trophy.

              In the knock out stage, first match saw Print Languages team defeat Electronic Media team, while the Print English defeated Media Associates to set up a final clash in the post-afternoon session. In the keenly contested final, the print English defeated print Languages by 21 runs. Mr Tapas Talukdar and Mr Avinash Nair of Print English scored 20 runs each for their teams.

              Though the print Languages team put up a good fight, it lost out loosing flurry of wickets in the end. Print English threw spanner on Print Languages Team to lift Indian Oil GMC Trophy 2009 for third consecutive time with its splendid performance on the ground. Mr. Meshram gave away the winners prizes to the players and teams.�

              The player of the tournament award was given to Yogesh Chavda (The Times of India) of the Print English team. Best batsman went to Tapas Talukdar (Economic Times) of the Print English Team, Parag Dave (Economic Times Gujarati) took the best bowler award, while the best fielder went to Shailesh Raval (India Today-Hindi). The funfilled tournament saw cheering teams, music band, and live commentary by Dr Piyush Shah.�

              Gujarat Cricket Association President Narhari Amin and Secretary Mr Sudhir Nanavati, Mr Hitesh Patel- Joint Secretary GCA, DIG Mr K K Ojha, DIG-CID (Crime) Mr G S Malik and many IAS officers including State Health Secretary Mr Ravi Saxena were some of the names present during the day. Organizations represented in the tournament in alphabetical order are Aaj Tak, Ahmedabad Mirror, Associated Press, BCCL, Dainik Jagran, DNA, Divya Bhaskar, ET NOW, India TV, Gujarat Samachar-UK, India Today, IBN7, INX Media, Jai Hind, Mid Day Mutual PR, News24, Network18, Rajasthan Patrika, Sahara Group, Samay TV, Sambhav Metro, STAR News, The Economic Times, The Hindu Business Line, Times Now, UNI , Adani group, State information department, Deccan Chronicle, Viacom18, Young Leader, UTV Global Broadcasting and Zee News.